Understanding Wrongful Death Laws in Tacoma Washington

Losing someone you love is always difficult, especially if they died due to the negligence of someone else. While nothing can bring your loved one back, the law provides a way to seek compensation for their wrongful death through the filing of a personal injury lawsuit. The following is an overview on how personal injury law pertains to wrongful death cases. If you have lost a loved one, it may benefit you to speak with a Tacoma personal injury lawyer to learn what options you may have.

What Is A Wrongful Death?

A wrongful death is one that occurs due to the reckless behavior or carelessness of someone else. Some common causes of wrongful death cases are:

  • Medical Malpractice Cases
  • Birth Injuries
  • Car Accidents
  • Motorcycle Incidents
  • Pedestrian Deaths
  • Bicycle Accidents
  • Commercial Vehicle Fatalities
  • Surgical Errors

Who Can File A Lawsuit?

The law allows only certain family members to file a wrongful death lawsuit. In Washington, the following people may bring a wrongful death suit to civil court:

  • The Spouse Of The Deceased
  • The Domestic Partner Of The Deceased
  • Surviving Children Or Step Children
  • The Deceased’s Parents

If the victim is a child, then both parents may file a claim if they are regular contributors to the child’s welfare and care even if they are separated, divorced or were never married.

Visit www.nolo.com for more information on wrongful death in Washington.

What Kinds Of Damages Can I Receive?

If you successfully win a settlement in a wrongful death case, you may be able to obtain compensation for damages such as:

  • Burial Costs
  • Funeral Expenses
  • Lost Of Companionship
  • Loss Of Income
  • Medical Bills Of The Deceased
  • Pain And Suffering
  • Price Of Damaged Property
  • Emotional Distress

While filing a lawsuit cannot bring your loved one back, it can provide the financial resources to pay outstanding bills so you can move forward with your life. If you have lost a loved one and are considering filing a wrongful death lawsuit in Washington, contact an attorney today for a consultation.

An Overview of Truck Accidents And How They Pertain To Personal Injury In Orange County, California

At the point when a tractor-trailer impacts with another vehicle, that other vehicle is typically a car or SUV. Since a tractor-trailer can measure 30 times the heaviness of a traveler vehicle, the tenants of the traveler vehicle are exceptionally defenseless. A tractor-trailer’s capability to stop can likewise influence crashes. At the point when streets are wet, they can take up to 50 percent more roadway to stop than a traveler vehicle. Truck jackknifing and rollovers additionally add to severe wounds and fatalities.

The National Statistics

The latest ascertainable national vast truck crash measurements are from 2014. According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 3,744 large trucks were included in lethal accidents that year, and 88,000 were included in injury crashes. Common accidents type rates were around 26 percent backside impacts, 16 percent sideswipes, and 4 percent head-on.

Common Reasons For Why Truck Accidents Happen

Substantial truck accidents are ordinarily created by any number of components. Those elements can incorporate

  • Errors by truck drivers
  • Failure of equipment on trucks like brake failure
  • Driving too fast in adverse weather conditions
  • Loads that aren’t balanced properly
  • Lack of driver training or experience

Because of the monstrous size of tractor-trailers contrasted with traveler vehicles, the probability of extreme injury or demise for tenants of a traveler vehicle is increased altogether in a crash. Typical wounds include:

  • Traumatic brain and spinal cord injuries
  • Organ damage
  • Severe fractures
  • Amputations
  • Burns

Damages accessible under California law to the individuals who were harmed by a careless large truck driver include:

 

  • Past and future doctor’s visit expenses
  • Past and future lost profit
  • Any perpetual distortion
  • Any lasting handicap
  • Loss of an ordinary life
  • Memorial service and entombment costs in case of a wrongful passing

Hire An Attorney

It’s not unordinary for the backup plan of a substantial truck to send a group of specialists out when they find out about a truck crash. You’ll need your own group out there as well. That is the reason you would prefer not to postpone in holding an expert truck accident attorney directly after a truck accident that you or a relative were harmed in. You don’t need a penny in your pocket to converse with a professional large truck accident attorney from the offices of Guldjian Law APC. Counsels and case assessments are free, and no legal expenses are expected until such time as your attorney gets remuneration for you.

How To File A Claim For A Wrongful Death In Vancouver, WA

Losing a friend or family member is never easy and affects the whole family. It is significantly more troublesome if your cherished one was killed due to the negligence of another driver. Luckily, personal injury laws in Washington State permit relatives to look for remuneration for the wrongful passing of a friend or family member by filing a claim. The following information is a layout of personal injury law and how it identifies with wrongful death cases.

Who Is Able To File A Claim?

Washington State law characterizes who is qualified for look for remuneration for the passing of a friend or family member as either:

  • The Children Or Stepchildren Of The Deceased
  • The Spouse Of The Deceased
  • The Deceased Party’s Registered Domestic Partner
  • A Representative Of The Deceased’s Estate

In the event that the passed loved one is less than 18 years old, guardians may record a wrongful passing claim as long as they helped support the child. This incorporates guardians who are separated, divorced, or never married.

Washington State Statute Of Limitations

Each state has a specific timeframe that permits relatives to submit a claim for the wrongful passing of a friend or family member. Washington State law expresses that a wrongful death claim must be filed no longer than 3 years from the date of death. Inability to submit a claim within the statute of limitations will in all probability cause your case to be rejected without any review.

Harms

While wrongful death cases vary, the law permits relatives to look for remuneration for specific sorts of harms. These harms may include:

  • Memorial service Expenses
  • Last Unpaid Medical Bills
  • Enthusiastic Distress
  • Torment And Suffering
  • Loss Of Companionship
  • Loss Of Care
  • Lost Wages The Deceased Would Have Earned Over The Course Of The Deceased’s Career

If a family member or friend was killed at the hands of another person’s negligence, contact an attorney in Vancouver, WA such as the offices of Caron, Colven, Robison & Shafton Law to schedule your free legal consultation where you will learn whether you may be entitled to earn financial compensation for your loss.

Here’s What To Do After Being Involved In A San Diego, CA Car Accident

Have you as of late been included in a car accident in San Diego? Assuming this is the case, you may have ended up with accident-related damages and additional costs, for example, destruction of your vehicle and time missed from your employment. It can be hard to comprehend what to do in these circumstances, however employing a San Diego personal injury lawyer can offer assistance.

What is a Personal Injury?

Before you can figure out whether a personal injury lawyer can help you, you should first comprehend what a personal injury is. The essential meaning of a personal injury is damage that has happened to a human as opposed to some kind of property. On the off chance that you were harmed in a car accident and you are not to blame, there is a decent shot that you have a case.

With these cases, lawyers aim to help their customers get the compensation that they merit. Sadly, despite the fact that auto insurance agencies ought to pay for doctor’s visit expenses and different costs associated with these accidents, they frequently attempt to escape doing as such at whatever point they can. Additionally, you have more to stress over more than simply the cost of your doctor’s visit expenses. Contingent upon the wounds that you have received, you may have to receive medical treatment and have specialist’s visits for the rest of your life. You may need to have surgery later on down the line, or you may need to take a prescription for whatever the remainder of your life, alongside managing the agony from your wounds.

Furthermore, your accident may have made it impossible for you to work. For the time being, this can be a financial disaster. In the long haul, it can abandon you pondering what to do. You and your family ought not to need to experience the ill effects of these costs, especially if the accident was not your blame.

What Can I Do If I Was Injured in a Car Accident?

Alongside guaranteeing that you look for medicinal consideration as quickly as time permits after your accident, which is vital to ensure that you get the help that you require as soon as possible and to begin a paper trail, you ought to likewise consider meeting with a personal injury lawyer.

An excellent San Diego car accident lawyer from the law office of Yasmine Djawadian APC can converse with you about your case, can deal with the insurance agencies and can find a way to help guarantee that you get the remuneration that you merit after a mishap.

Information on truck accident laws in California

If you’re in a vehicle accident with a truck, chances are there are some people who are liable besides the truck driver. The liable parties can include the truck or trailer owner, individual who leased the truck, manufacturer and the shipper of cargo on the truck. According to California law, you have the right to sue all individuals responsible for the truck accident.

Statute of Limitations in a California Truck Accident

You have a limited about of time to file an injury lawsuit in Orange County if you’re injured in a truck accident. You have two years from the date of the accident to file your claim in Orange County Court. If you are only seeking property damage, statute of limitations is three years from the date of the crash. If a minor was injured in the truck accident, you have two years from the time they turn 18 years old to file a lawsuit.

How to Prove Fault in a Truck Accident Lawsuit

To prove the driver, company, shipper or manufacturer was liable for the truck accident; you must show they were negligent. Negligence means the wrongful party breached their duty to you not to cause an accident. Besides causing a truck accident the wrongful party also your injuries. These injuries and property damage requires them to pay you the amount of money you’re seeking.

You can receive damages, or money, for:

• Pain and suffering
• Additional medical bills
• Property damage
• Mental anguish
• Death of a loved one caused by the truck accident

Please note that if the wrongful party was the government, different rules apply. For instance, you must file a government claim within 180 days of the truck accident. That’s why it’s important to speak to a personal injury attorney about proving negligence with a private or government party that caused your truck accident.

Comparative Negligence

Comparative negligence is often a defense the wrongful party uses to decrease the amount of money they have to pay an injured party. Comparative negligence looks at the actions of the wrongful and injured parties to compare fault or blame for the accident. If the suing party was at fault, their award decreases by a percent. This means they won’t receive the full amount of the award, but they will receive something.

To learn more information about your rights in a truck accident, contact an Orange County personal injury attorney. They’ll help you get the money you need.

Why You Need An Attorney If You’ve Been In A Riverside, CA Motorcycle Accident

California is the largest populated state in America. Subsequently, California has the most registered motorcyclist than any state in America. The majority of motorcyclist reside in Southern California, particularly Riverside. California’s highly populated roadways in conjunction with its heavy traffic result in an accident prone area. According to Accident Data Center, motorcyclists were almost 30 times more likely to be hurt in an accident than any other motorists in 2012. Being involved in a motorcycle accident can be one the most devastating moments of your life, you owe it to yourself to what to do after a wreck, continue reading to learn how.

Types of Motorcycle Accidents

Misinformation can spread like wildfire; people have constantly been misinformed that when a motorcyclist is involved in an accident, it was probably the rider’s fault. However, studies reveal that primarily motorcycle accidents are caused by the negligence of other motorists. Motorcycle accident categories include but are not limited to:

  • Head On Collisions
  • Dangerous Road Conditions
  • Speeding
  • Negligent Driving
  • Left Turn Accidents

Motorcycle Accident Causes

Negligence is the primary cause of motorcycle accidents; the following behaviors are considered negligent driving:

  • Reckless Driving
  • Driving While Under the Influence of Drugs or Alcohol
  • Speeding
  • Using a Cell Phone or Electronic Device While Driving
  • Eating While Driving

Hire An Attorney

If you or a loved one have been in a motorcycle accident that was caused by the negligence of another driver, you may be entitled to obtain legal compensation for injuries sustained from your motorcycle accident. You must be able to prove the cause of the accident was the negligence of another party and that the injuries sustained were from the accident instead of past injuries. This is not an easy task, thankfully, people have dedicated their life to the study and practice of personal injury law and are here to help you get back on your feet. A motorcycle accident attorney from the offices of Guldjian Law APC will work relentlessly to give you the best representation possible; your attorney will negotiate with insurance companies who are trying to settle for the least possible amount, medical professionals, and review police reports to help build your case.

 

 

How A San Diego Car Accident Attorney Can Help You

California traffic is known to be have the worst, debilitating traffic in the United States, particularly Los Angeles. California residents know first hand how dangerous California’s traffic can be and why accidents happen all the time there. Car accidents are not only detrimental to the people involved but also to the U.S. economy; car accident cost the United States $230 billion every year, says the Association For Safe International Road Travel. It’s well known to all drivers that most likely they will be involved in at least one traffic accident throughout the course of their life. When a person sustained significant injuries as a result of someone else’s negligence, they may be entitled to legal compensation with the assistance of a professional car accident attorney.

While car accident lawyers handle a variety of injury cases, here is a list of the most common car accident injuries:

  • Blunt Injury
  • Broken Bones
  • Spinal Damage
  • Burns
  • Back Injuries
  • Amputations or Severed Limbs
  • Eye Injury
  • Facial Lacerations
  • Neck Injuries
  • Brain Damage
  • Sprains

If an individual received any of the above injuries as a result of another driver’s negligence, they might be entitled to receive compensation based on the severity of the damages. Damages refer to awards or compensation provided to victims of injury or loss. These damages or losses may include:

  • Hospital Bills
  • Medical Payments
  • Unemployment
  • Physical Fees
  • Ambulance Transportation Fees
  • Loss of Future Income if Disabled From Car Accident
  • Therapy Costs
  • Mental Health Counseling Costs

Being involved in a car accident can be one of the most difficult times in your life, that is why experienced San Diego car accident attorneys from the law firm of Yasmine Djawadian are here to help you get back on your feet. Schedule a consultation to allow a YD Law representative to determine whether you should pursue legal action. Time is of the utmost importance, California’s statute of limitations states that you have up to two years to file a claim; this window is significantly reduced to six months if you plan on pursuing legal action against a government entity. Don’t wait, call now.

 

How Those Who Have Been Hurt in an Accident Can Benefit From Hiring an Attorney

Roadways are busy every day with large, commercial trucks that deliver goods to those who need them. However, with over 10 million commercial trucks on the road in the United States accidents are bound to happen. Because commercial trucks are so large, these accidents are typically more serious than those involving passenger cars. The following outlines how personal injury law work and how hiring a truck accident attorney may benefit those who have been hurt in an accident.

Truck Accident Causes

Unfortunately, many accidents involving commercial trucks could be avoided with a little attention and care. The most common causes of commercial truck accidents in the United States include:

  • Driver Fatigue
  • Driver Distraction
  • Drug Or Alcohol Use By The Truck Driver
  • Poor Truck Maintenance
  • Driving While Overloaded
  • Speeding
  • Failure Of Equipment
  • Tailgating
  • Failing To Signal When Turning
  • Road Construction Or Hazards
  • Driver Inexperience

Damages

If a truck driver or manufacturer is negligent and someone is hurt in an accident, they may be required to pay certain damages to the victim. Some examples of damages that are often awarded to truck accident victims are:

  • Pain And Suffering
  • Emotional Distress
  • Cost Of Therapy
  • Hospital Bills
  • Emergency Room Costs
  • Ambulance Transport Fees
  • Doctor Bills
  • Cost Of Alternative Transportation
  • Loss Of Income
  • Future Lost Income If The Victim Is Permanently Disabled

Who Pays For A Victim’s Injuries?

In truck accident cases, the insurance company of the trucking company is typically responsible for paying accident victims medical bills and other expenses. However, there are many different scenarios that may change the way accident victims are compensated. For this reason, it is best to speak with an experienced truck accident attorney.

Being injured in an accident with a large, commercial truck can be devastating. If you have been the victim of this type of accident, visit www.guldjianlaw.com to speak with a personal injury attorney at once. During a consultation, an attorney will examine your case and let you know if you have a valid claim.

What You Need To Know About Car Accidents in California

California is a state with over 38 million residents, most of which travel by car to work, home, and school. Because traffic is heavy and weather conditions vary significantly, accidents are common. Statistics show that most drivers in the United States will be involved in at least one accident by the time they are 34 years old, so it is a good idea to know what to expect if you are a car accident victim. If you have been injured due to the negligence of a California driver, contact a personal injury lawyer for information.

Who Pays For Your Injuries?

If you have been injured in a car crash, you most likely have an ever-growing stack of medical bills and other transportation expenses. It is not always easy to determine who was at fault in an accident. To be compensated, you must be able to prove the other driver was negligent and caused you to be hurt. Some things that may constitute negligence are:

  • Speeding
  • Careless Driving
  • Driving While Texting
  • Talking On A Cell Phone While Driving
  • Driving Under The Influence
  • Driving Aggressively
  • Following Too Closely
  • Driving Carelessly In Bad Weather

Proving the other driver was negligent may allow you to be awarded a settlement for your injuries. In most instances, the at-fault driver’s insurance company is required to pay. In some cases, the at-fault driver may be made to pay you punitive damages as punishment for being careless.

How Much Time Do You Have To File A Claim?

The law sets aside a specific amount of time in which car accident victims can file a claim in court. If you are hurt in a California accident, you have two years to accomplish this goal.

Speaking with an attorney is the best way to examine all of your options under California law after a car accident. After a consultation, your attorney will let you know if you should pursue your claim in a court of law.